Flickr: Should I Stay or Should I Go??

9 07 2008

I was rather late to jump on the Flickr bandwagon, but lately, I’ve been weighing the pros and cons of keeping my account. This, along with the recent news from Getty, just might seal the deal for me regarding that decision.

I love having another avenue to expose myself ..err… my WORK, that is  🙂  and it’s been a great way to continually expand my web presence, connect with other photographers, find inspiration, discuss techniques and other geeky photography stuff.

And, honestly – since there are SO MANY smart, legitimate photographers represented on that site, I’ve just sort of ASSUMED that I had nothing to worry about regarding licensing/copyrights, etc. But THEN… I started hearing stories here and there about so-and-so’s photo being ripped-off and used on some obscure webzine. But I mean, I take all the precautions I can – limit downloads, printing, etc. I don’t even have THAT much traffic on my site (yet) – so, I soon found myself thinking that old cliché “it could never happen to me” …and, as far as I know, it hasn’t (yet).

At this point I’m not sure how much longer I’m going to gamble with the naive idea that it won’t…

I hate to do it, but I feel as though I’ll soon be saying goodbye to Flickr.


Actions

Information

One response

1 10 2008
Blanca

I haven`t posted any of my designs on Flickr, I just don´t feel ok. But my work is easier to get copied than yours. I think you could put your name on each photo, in potoshop across the whole picture so nobody can use it in a bad way. If someone with honest intentions wants it, they will contact you directly and they will understand why you put that on the picture.

http://www.chico-chihuahua.com

Leave a comment